Prof. Anton le Roex

Oversight Committee

Anton le Roex is the Dean of Science at UCT, and has been a member of the academic staff of UCT since 1981.
He served as Head of the Department of Geological Sciences from 1991 through 2005. He served as Deputy Dean of the Science Faculty from 2001 to 2011 and has been Dean of Science since January 2011.

His research interests lie in the field of major and trace elements and isotope geochemistry, and petrogenesis and evolution, of oceanic volcanism at mid-ocean spreading ridges and ocean islands and seamounts; in oceanic mantle geochemistry and evolution; in the geochemical characteristics of sub-continental mantle and its role in alkaline magma formation; and in analytical geochemistry.

Prof. le Roex is a member of the Geochemical Society, American Geophysical Union, Geological Society of South Africa and the Royal Society of South Africa.